Best of Broadway postpones 2020 concert series

The postponing of the 2020 Susanville Best of Broadway series is a devastating blow, but the hard work of the nearly 110 cast members and the many, many volunteers was evident in the rehearsals leading up to what was supposed to be opening night, Friday, March 13.

Ian Hill, left, Kaitlyn Nakanishi and Amira Hill channel the powerful sisters of the American Revolution as they sing “The Schuyler Sisters” from “Hamilton.”

Although concerns over the coronavirus prompted Best of Broadway to postpone its March shows, the newspaper was invited to Media Night Saturday, March 7, and felt the work of the individuals still deserved to be celebrated.

Best of Broadway will notify the public of the rescheduled dates as soon as possible. If you have any questions regarding a refund, call 310-4302 for more information, a statement released Friday night read. The organization noted, as a nonprofit, it also appreciates all donations and thanked the community for its ongoing support.

For months the cast and volunteers worked to bring 20 songs from 10 musicals to life, through powerful vocals, enchanting costumes and elaborate set designs.

This year’s series featured songs from “Beauty and the Beast,” “Hamilton,” “Waitress,” “All Shook Up,” “The Lorax,” “The Music Man,” “Chicago,” “The Wizard of Oz,” “Young Frankenstein” and “Rocky Horror Picture Show.”

This year’s production team includes Head Director Matt Ngotel; Production Coordinator Jayson Vial; directors and choreographers Doria Dalu, Nicole McCoy, Amanda Tannous, Mikalah Gray, Shawn Anderson, Carla Dollar, Seanne McElrath and Jayson Vial; costume designer Cheryl Elliott; technical director Joel Ehrlich; assistant technical director and stage manager Adam Danes; lighting, Krista Pacheco and Craig Harrison; stage crew Marcus Pacheco, Cameron Hranac, Lilly Hranac, Deven Cummings, Anna Cummings, Hannah Wilson and Austin Hitchings; sound Kayla Pacheco; spotlight Lee Hemphill; mic technicians Teresa Phillips and Tina Hemphill; curtains Julie Brown; carpentry Tony Jonas and Marcus Pacheco; props master Shawn Butterbach; props team Hannah Danes, Jessica Scrogin, Lisa Bernard, Jessica Ellis, Deven Cunningham and Anna Cunningham; set design Shawn Butterbach, Doria Dalu, Nicole McCoy, Amanda Tannous, Mikalah Gray, Shawn Anderson, Carla Dollar and Jayson Vial; fundraising Michelle Ngotel, Linda Tindell, Carrie Williams, Jamie Stout and Shawn Anderson; tickets Stacy Kirklin and Carrie Williams; parent coordinator Kristina Clem; cleaning Barney McKey, Bruce Theel, Sarah Theel, Austin Hitchings, Sandy Jonas and the Hoffman Family; and reserve seating coordinator Melissa Harrison.

“We appreciate every single one of our volunteers, whether they’re a performer on stage or working behind the scenes,” said Best of Broadway President Carla Dollar.


Every year the Susanville Best of Broadway team spends countless hours and many months preparing for the large annual show, but really, this event requires some year-round work that brings the cast and crew even closer together.

“We might be together for not only rehearsals for the show, but many other times throughout the year,” Dollar said, listing instances like the BoBfire, a luncheon, this year hosted by Tony and Tammy Mallery, and the annual January fundraiser, this year directed by Shawn Anderson.

All these events bring the Best of Broadway participants closer together.

“Because of these events, we really have become a tight, close family,” Dollar said. “It’s really an amazing thing.”

As a result, this group’s connectedness and chemistry shined through in the myriad of performances in the show. They have fun doing this, and in turn, it’s fun watching them bring the arts to Lassen County — and although postponed for now, this show is worth the wait.


Cast and crew information


Beauty and the Beast

Written by Howard Ashman and Tim Rice, composed by Alan Menken. Directed by Matt Ngotel, and choreographed by Matt Ngotel, Nicole McCoy and Amanda Tannous.

“Belle” soloists include Hannah Danes, Zachery Mallery, Dominique Bidart and Robert Gammie.

“Be Our Guest” soloists are Taylor Sulliva and Adriana Martinez.


All Shook Up

Written and composed by Otis Blackwell. Directed by Shawn Anderson and choreographed by Doria Dalu and Nicole McCoy.

“All Shook Up” soloists are Cory Bill, Grace Burt, and Maria Mankins.

“Don’t Be Cruel” soloists are Cory Bill, and Shawn Butterbach.



Written and composed by Sara Bareilles. Directed by Matt Ngotel, and choreographed by Matt Ngotel, and Amanda Tannous.

“A Soft Place to Land” and “Opening Up” soloists are Olivia Nakken, Jenell Alward, and Jessica Scrogin.

The Lorax

Written and composed by John Powell and Cinco Paul. Directed Mikalah Gray and choreographed by Mikalah Gray and Nicole McCoy.

“Thneedville” soloists are Taylor Fogal, and Robert Gammie.

“How Bad Can I be” soloist is Zachery Mallery.

“Let it Grow” soloists are Taylor Fogal, and Robert Gammie.


Music Man

Written by Meredith Wilson, and composed by Meredith Wilson and Doug Besterman. Directed by Doria Dalu and choreographed by Doria Dalu and Nicole McCoy.

“The Wells Fargo Wagon” soloist is Dayton Duerksen.

“Pick-a-Little, Talk-a-Little” soloists are Shawna Elder, Stephanie Moore, Robin Wanless and Jenell Alward.

“76 Trombones” soloist is Arnold Trippel.



Written by Bob Fosse, Fred Ebb,and Maurine Dallas Watkins, and composed by John Kander. Directed by Amanda Tannous and choreographed by Amanda Tannous and Seanne McElrath.

“The Cell Block Tango” soloists are Malia Maas, Robin Wanless, Doria Dalu, Nicole McCoy, Stephanie Moore and Susan Grant.



Written and composed by Lin Manuel Miranda. Directed by Matt Ngotel, and choreographed by Seanne McElrath and Matt Ngotel.

“The Schuyler Sisters” soloists are Dawson Francois, Amira Hill, Ian Hill and Kaitlynn Nakinishi.

“It’s Quiet Uptown” soloists are Emily Vorlicky, Shawn Anderson and Stephanie Moore.


The Wizard of Oz

Written by E. Y. Harburg and Tim Rice, composed by Andrew Lloyd Webber, Harold Arlen, and Herbert Stothart.

Directed by Jayson Vial, Carla Dollar, and choreographed by Amanda Tannous and Jayson Vial.

“Munchkinland” soloists are Grace Burt, Adelin McLure, Hailey Sandoval, Dayton Duerksen and Rowen.

“Jitterbug” soloists are Kaitlyn Nakinishi, Adelin Mclure, Addison Dollar, Chris Mallery and Taylor Fogal.


Young Frankenstein

Written by Mel Brooks and Thomas Meehan, composed by Mel Brooks, Doug Besterman and Glen Kelly. Directed by Mikalah Gray, and choreographed by Doria Dalu, Nicole Mccoy and Matt Ngotel.

“Puttin’ on the Ritz” soloists are Carolyn O’Brien and Shawn Butterbach.

“Happiest Town in Town” soloists are Shawn Anderson and Mindy Hilton.


The Rocky Horror Show

Written by Richard O’Brien, composed by Richard O’Brien and Richard Hartley. Directed and choreographed by Matt Ngotel.

“Time Warp” soloists are Dawson Francois, Stephanie Moore and Jameson Herrera.