Jamie Johansson elected to third term as Farm Bureau President; Lassen County’s Taylor Hagata elected board of directors

James D. “Jamie” Johansson has been elected to a third consecutive two-year term as president of the California Farm Bureau, the largest membership organization in California agriculture.

Johansson, the 16th Farm Bureau president, grows olives and citrus fruit in Oroville and operates an olive oil company, Lodestar Farms. He is a former chairman of the California Young Farmers & Ranchers State Committee, a former vice president of the Butte County Farm Bureau and a former Oroville City Council member and vice mayor.

The election was held Tuesday, Dec. 7 at the Farm Bureau’s 103rd Annual Meeting in Orange County.

“It’s the highest honor to serve,” Johansson told members of the Farm Bureau’s House of Delegates following his election. He described the Farm Bureau as “stronger now than I’ve ever seen” and said members deserve “to celebrate this organization that you have created and the direction you are going.”

Also elected to third consecutive terms were the Farm Bureau’s first vice president, Shannon Douglass, and its second vice president, Shaun Crook.

Douglass, of Orland, is an owner of Douglass Ranch, which raises beef cattle, sunflowers, pumpkins, corn and forage crops. She is also the founder of CalAgJobs, an online agricultural jobs site. She is a director of the Glenn County Farm Bureau and serves on the Glenn County Fair Board of Directors.

Crook is a vice president of a family timber business in Groveland and a real estate agent specializing in ranch, commercial and residential properties. He is a member of the Tuolumne County Alliance for Resources and Environment and a former president of the Tuolumne County Farm Bureau.

Meanwhile, county Farm Bureau members also elected a dozen members to the Farm Bureau’s Board of Directors. They include: Taylor Hagata, representing Lassen, Modoc and Plumas-Sierra counties; Ronnie Leimgruber, representing Imperial and San Diego counties; Richard Miner, representing Los Angeles and Orange counties; Brian Medeiros, representing Kern and Kings counties; Donny Rollin, representing Fresno County; Jay Mahil, representing Madera, Mariposa and Merced counties; Joe Martinez, representing Alameda, Contra Costa and Solano counties; Ron Peterson, representing Stanislaus and Tuolumne counties; Clark Becker, representing Butte, Nevada and Yuba-Sutter counties; Johnnie White, representing Marin, Napa and Sonoma counties; Joe Fischer, representing Placer, Sacramento, El Dorado and Amador counties; and Ron Vevoda, representing Del Norte and Humboldt counties.

Jocelyn Anderson, a Glenn County walnut farmer, was selected to chair the Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee, succeeding State YF&R Committee Chair Lindsey Mebane of Kern County. Al Stehly, a San Diego County farmer, was appointed to chair the Farm Bureau’s Rural Health Department.

Delegates also elected Marin County rancher Martin Pozzi as an alternate delegate to the American Farm Bureau Federation Annual Convention next month in Atlanta. The Farm Bureau’s three top leaders, Johansson, Douglass and Crook, will serve as delegates.


About the California Farm Bureau

     The California Farm Bureau works to protect family farms and ranches on behalf of nearly 31,000 members statewide and as part of a nationwide network of nearly 6 million Farm Bureau members.