TerriLynn Bejcek, left, and Lassen County District 5 Supervisor Jason Ingram pose beside a billboard on Highway 395 near Janesville. Ingram said he will not be satisfied until homeowners actually get lower rates. Ingram was not available to comment on this story? Will this proposal satisfy him?

Lara announces appointments to the CAARP Advisory Committee, the CIGA Board of Governors, the Insurance Diversity Task Force— still no fire insurance relief

Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara announced several appointments to help drive forward the California Department of Insurance’s mission to protect consumers.

California Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara.

These appointments include naming reappointed members Bernardo de la Torre, Cynthia Strathmann, and Doug Heller to the California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan Advisory Committee; Deepika Srivastava and Don Jones as the newest members to the California Insurance Guarantee Association Board of Governors, as well as reappointed member Christina Ozuna; and reappointed members Mark Morales, Rebecca Gardiner, and Tommy Smith to the Insurance Diversity Task Force.

“I am pleased to announce these appointments to the CAARP Advisory Committee, the CIGA Board of Governors, and the Insurance Diversity Task Force,” said Commissioner Lara. “Protecting consumers and addressing inequality are top priorities for our Department. The advice and diverse perspectives of these appointees are critical to continuing our commitment to protecting consumers across our state through an overall healthy insurance marketplace in California.”

The governor and California State Legislature created CAARP to provide auto insurance for motorists unable to obtain coverage in the private market due to their driving records or other extraordinary circumstances. One program within the plan — the California Low Cost Auto Program — aims to provide affordable liability insurance to income-eligible good drivers by assigning them to private insurers based upon the companies’ share of the auto insurance market. The CAARP Advisory Committee provides policy advice to Commissioner Lara on matters affecting the operation of its programs.

The CIGA Board of Governors oversees the guarantee association’s general operations and management in order to protect policyholders in the event of an insurance company insolvency. Established in 1969 by the Governor and California State Legislature, CIGA comprises all insurance companies admitted to sell homeowners, workers’ compensation, automobile, and other specified property and casualty lines of insurance in California.

The Insurance Diversity Task Force oversees the Department’s Insurance Diversity Initiative, which encourages insurers to advance diversity of insurance company corporate boards and increase procurement contracts with diverse businesses owned by women, veterans and disabled veterans, members of historically disadvantaged communities, or LGBTQ+ people. Additionally, the Task Force makes recommendations to the Insurance Commissioner regarding innovative ways to increase diversity within the insurance industry. . Earlier this year Commissioner Lara introduced the first-ever Insurance Diversity Index, a groundbreaking benchmarking tool for a more inclusive insurance industry.

The next CAARP Advisory Committee meetings will be held Nov. 14 and 15, the next CIGA Board of Governors meeting is Nov. 8, and the next Insurance Diversity Task Force meeting is Dec. 7.

More details are available at: www.insurance.ca.gov/boards.

Public members of the CAARP Advisory Committee receive $250 per meeting. All other positions are uncompensated.