Now is not the time to be tilting at windmills.

We live in a democratic republic in which we, the people, vote to elect our officials and set the course of the ship of state.

Election Day, Nov. 8, 2016, has come and gone. Following a long, hard-fought battle for the presidency some openly thank God for the ultimate result while others lament the country’s imminent collapse. Let’s face it — as long as there are candidates running for elected office, they will attract both supporters and detractors. When the votes are finally counted, some will rejoice while others will weep. It happens with nearly every election. It simply comes with the territory.

Lassen County, considered a Republican stronghold by many, overwhelming supported Republican candidates in the national and statewide races — Donald Trump, Doug LaMalfa, Ted Gaines and Brian Dahle. In the U.S. Senate race, under California law the top two candidates appear on the ballot, and they both were Democrats. Kamala Harris easily defeated Loretta Sanchez.

They say all elections are local, and we elected many to boards and special districts around the county.

According to early election unofficial results in Lassen County, Clara Schumacher and Timothy Jobbins lead in the race for seats on the Fort Sage Unified School District Board of Trustees; Patrick Walton and Heather Marsh lead in the race for seats on the Richmond Elementary School District Board of Trustees; Tiffany Giessner and Lynda Joseph lead in the race for seats of the Shaffer Elementary School District Board of Trustees; Pamela Woodworth and Jenna Aguilera lead in the race for seats on the Susanville School District Board of Trustees; and, Emily Heffley and Patty Bennet lead in the race seats on the Westwood Unified School District Board of Trustees.

Chris Gallagher leads Alex deMartimprey for the Lassen County District 1 Supervisor’s seat, and Kenneth Holmes and Charlie Harrison lead in the race for seats on the Janesville Fire Protection District Board of Directors.

Three seats were up for election on the Lassen Municipal Utility District Board of Directors — representing different wards but elected at large. Ward 1 incumbent Fred Nagel leads in his race for another term, but Ward 5 incumbent Jay Dow trails Dave Ernaga. In Ward 4 Daren Hagata leads the election.

Local voters gave leads to Prop. 52 (Medi-Cal hospital fee), Prop. 53 (revenue bonds), Prop. 54 (legislature), Prop. 58 (English proficiency) and Prop. 66 (death penalty).

Local voters voted to reject Prop. 51 (school bonds), Prop. 55 (tax extention), Prop. 56 (cigarette tax), Prop. 57 (criminal sentences), Prop. 59 (corporations), Prop. 60 (adult films), Prop. 61 (state prescription drugs), Prop. 62 (death penalty), Prop. 63 (firearms), Prop. 64 (marijuana legalization), Prop. 65 (carryout bags) and Prop. 67 (ban on plastic bags).

Local voters also opposed Measure H (Shasta College).

Statewide, Hillary Clinton leads the state’s electoral votes; Harris leads in the U.S. Senate, LaMalfa, Gaines and Dahle hold leads and Props. 51, 52, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 58, 59, 63, 64, 66 and 67 appear to have passed.

The people’s voice has been heard, and its now time for each and every one of us to accept the will of the people. Thanks to all who sought office and to all those who cast their ballots. Thanks to you, our democratic process really works.

In this time of transition, may God bless America.