State announces special election deadlines

A declaration by California Governor Gavin Newsom last month set the Special Election in motion for the District 1 Assembly seat vacated when Brian Dahle won election June 4 to the District 1 Senate seat vacated when Ted Gaines became a member of the California State Board of Equalization in January.

The First Assembly District includes Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Plumas, Shasta and Sierra counties.

The deadline for candidates to file their paperwork to seek election is Wednesday, July 3.

Two Lassen County residents — Joe Turner, former chair of the Lassen County Republican Central Committee, and Megan Dahle, Brian Dahle’s wife, have announced their candidacy for the vacant seat. An official list of candidates will be available from the state Wednesday, July 10.

A Special Primary Election will be held Tuesday, Aug. 27. If no candidate receives 50 percent of the vote plus one vote, the top two candidates will then advance to the General Election held Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Voters Guides should be in the mail before Aug. 6. Vote-by-mail ballots should be out by the week of July 29.

The last day to register to vote is Monday, Aug. 12. Those who fail to register by that day may be able to register at the Elections Office.

Vote-by-mail ballots must be postmarked by Aug. 27 and received by Aug. 30