Award to help Plumas-Sierra Telecommunications bring high-speed broadband internet to Scott Road area

Plumas-Sierra Telecommunications (PST) is pleased to announce that it has accepted a California Advanced Services Fund (CASF) award to bring high-speed broadband internet to the Scott Road area of Sierra and Lassen counties.

The CSFA, whose purpose is to help bridge the digital divide in unserved and underserved areas in the state, was started in 2007, and is part of the California Public Utilities Commission. PST previously received a matching grant from CASF, along with funds from the American Reinvestment and Recovery Act, in 2010, when PST constructed its middle-mile fiber optic network backbone from Reno, Nevada, north to Susanville and west to Quincy, California.

PST will begin construction of the Scott Road network as soon as environmental reviews are completed. The Scott Road grant joins the five grants PST received in 2019, which are nearing completion in the C-Road, Mohawk Vista, Elysian Valley, Johnstonville, Keddie, Lake Davis, and Johnsville areas. The Scott Road project is expected to be completed within two years from permit approvals.

PST extends its appreciation to the Northeastern and Upstate California Connect Broadband Consortia for its assistance in securing these grant funds.

If you have not already contacted PST to be added to its interest list please call 530-832-4126 or visit

Plumas-Sierra Telecommunications is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Plumas-Sierra Rural Electric Cooperative providing high-quality, high-speed broadband services to Lassen, Plumas and Sierra counties in California and Washoe County, Nevada. Headquarters are located in Portola, California.

Founded in 1937, PSREC is a member-owned electric distribution, transmission and generation utility providing electrical power and related services to more than 7,500 member/owners in Plumas, Lassen, and Sierra counties in California, and parts of Washoe County, Nevada. The cooperative is controlled by the membership through an elected seven-person board of directors.