LHS student athletes earn their respective accolades

On Wednesday, Feb. 26 Lassen High School honored its 2020 basketball players with the annual awards ceremony. Parents, students, teachers, and members of the community in attendance cheered on those who worked hard this season.

For the varsity Grizzlies boy’s team, Most Outstanding went to senior Neil Growdon. Offensive MVP went to Ryan Del Carlo, while Defensive MVP went to Aaron Ogburn.

Brock Wolf was honored as the Ultimate Grizzly, teammate Landon Bennett took home the Coaches Award and Lowgan Fisher was named Most Inspirational.

The varsity Lady Grizzlies named Chelsea Williams and Caitlyn Crosby Best Defense and Offense, respectively. Most Improved went to Katie Parady. Most Inspirational went to Rylee Friddle, while Hailey Mena was honored with MVP.

Ronnie Merrill was named Ultimate Grizzly for the Lady Grizzlies. Lastly, team captain certificates were handed to Grace Memmott, Mena and Crosby.
The JV boys had the younger Blaine Wolf named Offensive MVP, and Logan Growdon was given Defensive MVP. Juven Reyo was honored as the Most Inspirational and Tanner Robinson was the Most Improved.

The JV girls named Shade Satica as MVP. Best Defense was Katie Marsh, while Best Offense went to Taylore Somerville. Ryleigh Hart was titled the Most Improved. The Ultimate Grizzly Award went to Katelyn Ernaga.

For the freshman boys, the Best Offensive player went to Travis Ross, while Best Defensive was honored to Ethan Shaw. Rashaan Bussy earned Most Improved for the season, and Jay McKernan was the Most Inspirational.

Lastly, the freshmen girls had Ruthie Winters and Sidney Whitlock both honored as Best Offensive and Faith Murphy was named the Best Defensive. Most Improved was given to Jessica Walsh. Whitlock also earned the Most Inspirational Player this season. MVP was awarded to Abby Robles, and the freshman girl Ultimate Grizzly was honored to Graceyn Harlan.