Tuesday, March 23, 2010 • City announces qualified candidates for vacant council seats

Publisher’s note: This story originally appeared in the Tuesday, March 23, 2010 edition of the Lassen County Times.

The deadline to file has come and gone, and the Susanville City Clerk’s office has released the list of candidates who have officially qualified for the ballot in the race for the city’s two vacant spots on the Susanville City Council.

The deadline was extended by five days to Wednesday, March 17, after incumbents Kurt Bonham and Vern Templeton decided to not run again. Bonham is now running against incumbent Karen Fouch for county auditor, while Templeton will be taking a break from politics.

Of the nine individuals who originally took out papers to run for the council seats, six have returned with the necessary signatures to qualify for the ballot. That means between now and June 8, six people will be campaigning within the city for the two seats. The top two vote getters will be elected to the council.

The candidates include Allen Barger, Phil Bertanzoni, Rod DeBoer, Nicholas McBride, Cheryl McDonald, Craig Padelford and Ronald Wood. The other two people who took out papers, Joseph Turner and Alfred G. Vazquez, did not file their paperwork in time.

Candidates are required to collect 20 valid signatures from at least 20 voters registered within the city in order to qualify for the ballot.

The only other city position up for election is that of city treasurer, currently held by Richard Stovall. Stovall is the only one to have filed for this position and qualified for the ballot by the March 17 deadline, which means he will be appointed in lieu of election and his name will not appear on the ballot.

Bonham said he hasn’t remembered an election with this many candidates vying for council spots since June 2006.

Candidates in that election included then incumbents Mary Fahlen, Rocky Joy, Bonham, Stephen Kocher, Wood and Lassen County Poet Laureate Violet Stout.

Joy kept his seat in that election, while Bonham was elected over Fahlen with 22.04 percent of the vote, beating Fahlen’s 16.25 percent.