California Highway Patrol Officer of the Year Benjamin Lingenfelter, left, receives his award from Captain Ian Troxell. Photos submitted

VFW honors law enforcement, firefighters

Susanville Fire Department Firefighter of the Year Wyatt Bollinger, right, receives his award from Assistant Fire Chief Marc Murphy.

The tradition of veterans groups honoring law enforcement and firefighters stretches back to 1963 — nearly 60 years, and that long-standing tradition continued at 7 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 17 when the Veterans of Foreign Wars William Davidson Post 2381 hosted the annual ceremony.

Ron Wood, VFW’s District 8 commander, said it’s important for the community to recognize the vital contribution law enforcement officers and firefighters make to our community every single day when they go to work and put their lives on the line to protect local residents and their property.

“This year they saved Susanville from the Dixie Fire,” Wood said.


Law Enforcement and Firefighters Awards Ceremony

California Highway Patrol

Susanville Area

Officer of the Year

Benjamin Lingenfelter


Lassen County Sheriff’s Department

Correctional Deputy of the Year

Mickenzie Mohr


Lassen County Sheriff’s Department

Deputy Sheriff of the Year

Michael “Chance” Loflin


Susanville Police Department

Police Officer of the Year

Cameron Monahan


Sierra Army Depot Police Department

Police Officer of the Year

Brandon Sell


Lassen County Probation Department

Probation Officer of the Year

Day Reporting Center Supervisor

Robert Roadifer


California Correctional Center

Officer of the Year

Fire Captain Michael Wilson-Young


Susanville Fire Department

Firefighter of the Year

Wyatt Bollinger


Lassen Modoc Unit

Firefighter of the Year

Division Chief Adam Mattos

Presenter: Unit Chief Scott Packwood