Cecilia Allin, owner of Blue Ox Coffee, receives the Business of the Year award from Jodie Gunn, Westwood Chamber board president. Photos by Terry Johnson

Westwood Chamber hosts annual membership mixer

The Walker Mansion Inn was the site of the annual Westwood Chamber Membership Mixer Wednesday, Feb. 12. Members of the community and business owners gathered at the inn for conversation over soup, salad, bread and dessert provided by Coventry Gardens.

Walker Mansion Inn is a bed and breakfast operated by Rob and Linda Hart. The couple also offers special events in the dining room as Coventry Gardens, such as afternoon tea. Old Town Mercantile is also located in the inn. It is an artisan co-op managed by Marty and Diane Growdon.

The board of directors for the Westwood Chamber hands out awards during the annual event for Business of the Year, Community Member of the Year and Westwood Chamber Board Member of the Year. The honorees for best business for 2020 were owners of Blue Ox Coffee, Chris and Cecilia Allin. Sheri Binswanger was honored as the most helpful community member, and Debbie Wilson, the treasurer of the Chamber board of directors, as most deserving board member.

Sheri Binswanger is named Community Member of the Year by the Westwood Chamber board of directors and is presented with a plaque at the annual membership mixer by Jodie Gunn, president, and Lana Beal, vice president.

Jodie Gunn, president of the board of directors, and Lana Beal, vice president, handed out framed certificates to each person receiving the award. The board of directors selects winners via a secret ballot during a board meeting.

The board also presented a bouquet of flowers to Gail Brown, who manages the visitor center for the chamber and helps with operations.

Debbie Wilson, treasurer for the Westwood Chamber board of directors, is awarded Board Member of the Year by Jodie Gunn, president and Lana Beal, vice president, during the annual membership mixer.

Four directors were elected to the board at the membership mixer. They were incumbents Gunn and Terry Johnson, Debbie Jennings and Melissa Wynn. The 2020 Westwood Chamber board of directors, in addition to the four newly elected members, are Beal, Wilson, Neil Young, Jacquie Cordova and Marty Growdon.

The Westwood Chamber has individual, organization and business memberships. Membership forms are available on the website at westwoodareachamber.net. The Westwood Chamber board of directors meets at 5 p.m. the second Monday of the month at the Lassen County Visitor Center, Westwood Station.